What to do with leftover mash!


Image

I hate wasting food but I am not very good at portion control!  If we ever have any left over chilli, stew, etc I will freeze the leftovers for a quick and easy meal at a later date.  With roasts we will keep any leftover meat for sandwiches, but I am never sure what to do with left over veggies and they usually get thrown away or given to the dog!

Last night I made too much mash, as usual, so, instead of wasting it I put it in the fridge and this morning have made some potato croquettes.  They were really simple and quick to make.

First I beat an egg and put it onto a plate.  I then put plain flour onto another plate and breadcrumbs onto a third.  I split the leftover mash into six and rolled into croquette shapes.  First I covered them with flour, then egg and finally breadcrumbs.  They take around 20 minutes in the oven at approximately 200C and are really crispy and delicious.

I used some packet breadcrumbs but if you don’t have any, toast a piece of bread and make your own they will work just as well.

Does anyone have any good recipes for other leftover veg?

6 thoughts on “What to do with leftover mash!

  1. I have a great book called Waste not, want not which has loads of great recipes for left over food.I tend to make a pasta fuck pot at the end of the week with our left overs.Put everything you have left over in lasagne dish along with cooked pasta and pour over a jar of pasta sauce topped with grated cheeses and bake for half an hour in the oven at 200c.

  2. I usually break the mash up in a frying pan for a minute or two, crack some eggs in and have a lovely potato omelette. Not as fancy looking as a proper Spanish Tortilla, but still works!

Leave a Reply

